Nature’s Touch Organic Berry Cherry Blend Class Action

Did you purchase and/or consume recalled Nature’s Touch Organic Berry Cherry Blend frozen fruit from Costco in Canada?  If so, your legal rights might be affected by this Class Action.

 

The claims process has begun. To be eligible for settlement benefits, Class Members must file a properly completed claim form, together with the required supporting documents, no later than October 3, 2019.

 

What is this Class Action about?

 

Class actions have been initiated in Ontario and Québec against Nature’s Touch Frozen Foods Inc. and Costco Wholesale Canada Ltd., Costco Canada Holdings, Inc., Gestion Costco Canada Inc., and Costco Western Holdings Ltd. arising from the alleged Hepatitis A contamination of Organic Berry Cherry Blend in 1.5 kg (3.3 lb) bags with best before dates up to and including March 15, 2018 with the universal product code 8 73668 00179 1 (“Recalled Frozen Fruit”). Recalled Frozen Fruit was sold at Costco warehouse locations in Ontario, Québec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador.

 

The class action has been certified by the Ontario Court for settlement purpose and has been authorized by the Québec Court in the context of a settlement. You may view a copy of the Notice of Certification and Settlement Approval Hearing by clicking here.

 

Who is affected by the Class Action?

 

All residents of Canada who:

 

  1. consumed Recalled Frozen Fruit and subsequently contracted Hepatitis A as a result;

  2. consumed Recalled Frozen Fruit and subsequently were immunized for Hepatitis A as a result;

  3. have a claim pursuant to the Family Law Act and analogous legislation and common law in other provinces; and

  4. purchased Recalled Frozen Fruit.

 

Has a settlement been reached?

 

A settlement has been reached in the class actions. The Defendants have agreed to pay $3,000,000.  The settlement is a compromise of disputed claims and is not an admission of liability or wrongdoing by the Defendants. The Courts have appointed Garden City Group, Inc. as the provisional Administrator of the proposed settlement.

 

The Ontario and Québec Courts have approved the Settlement Agreement, Plan of Allocation, and Class Counsel fees.

 

The Notice will provide more details about the settlement, how the settlement funds will be distributed, and the process for Class Members to apply for settlement benefits. Settlement benefits will be calculated in accordance with the Plan of Allocation as approved by the Courts.

 

 

We recommend you take a few minutes to view the FAQ section for further details about this class action.

 

 

 

The Deadline to submit a Claim Form is October 3, 2019.

Important Updates

a

Action collective relative au Mélange de baies et cerises organiques de la marque Nature’s Touch

Avez-vous acheté et/ou consommé des fruits congelés du Mélange de baies et cerises organiques de la marque Nature’s Touch provenant d’un Costco au Canada qui ont été rappelés ? Si oui, vos droits pourraient être affectés par cette Action collective.

 

Le processus de réclamations a commencé.  Pour être admissible à une compensation en vertu du règlement, les Membres du Groupe doivent déposer un formulaire de réclamation dûment complété, accompagné des pièces justificatives requises, au plus tard le 3 octobre 2019.

 

Sur quoi porte cette Action collective ?

 

Des actions collectives ont été déposées en Ontario et au Québec contre Nature’s Touch Frozen Foods Inc. et Costco Wholesale Canada Ltd., Costco Canada Holdings, Inc., Gestion Costco Canada Inc. et Costco Western Holdings Ltd. en lien avec la contamination alléguée à l’Hépatite A du Mélange de Baies et Cerises Organiques en sacs de 1.5 kg (3.3 lb), dont les dates de péremption allaient jusqu’au 15 mars 2018 inclusivement, portant le code universel des produits 8 73668 00179 1 (les « Fruits Congelés Rappelés »).  Les Fruits Congelés Rappelés étaient vendus dans les entrepôts Costco situés en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

 

L’Action collective a été certifiée par le Tribunal de l’Ontario aux fins de règlement et a été autorisée par le Tribunal du Québec dans le contexte du règlement. Vous pouvez consulter une copie de l’Avis d’Autorisation et d’Audience d’Approbation de l’Entente de Règlement en cliquant ici.

 

Qui est visé par cette Action collective ?

 

Tous les résidents du Canada qui :

 

  1. ont consommé les Fruits Congelés Rappelés et ont subséquemment contracté l’Hépatite A en conséquence;

  2. ont consommé les Fruits Congelés Rappelés et ont subséquemment été vaccinés contre l’Hépatite A en conséquence;

  3. ont une réclamation à titre de successeurs, ayants droit, héritiers, membres de la famille et personnes à charge; et

  4. ont acheté les Fruits Congelés Rappelés.

 

Est-ce qu’une entente de règlement a été conclue?

 

Une entente de règlement a été conclue dans ces actions collectives. Les défenderesses ont accepté de payer 3 000 000$. L’entente de règlement est un compromis entre des réclamations contestées et n’est pas une admission de responsabilité ou d’acte fautif par les Défenderesses. Les Tribunaux ont nommé Garden City Group, Inc. à titre d’Administrateur provisoire de l’entente de règlement proposée.

 

Les Tribunaux du Québec et de l’Ontario ont approuvé l’Entente de Règlement, le Protocole de Distribution et les honoraires des Avocats du Groupe.

 

L’Avis fournira plus de détails concernant le règlement, sur la façon dont les fonds de règlement seront distribués et sur la marche à suivre par les Membres du Groupe pour réclamer une indemnité de règlement. Les indemnités de règlement seront calculées conformément au Protocole de Distribution tel qu’approuvé par les Tribunaux.

 

Nous vous recommandons de prendre quelques minutes pour consulter la section FAQ pour plus de détails concernant cette Action collective.

 

 

La date limite pour soumettre un Formulaire de Réclamation est le 3 octobre 2019.

 

Mises à jour importantes

a